Selfless Orchestra – “Eden is Lost” @Post-rock

Selfless Orchestra – “Eden is Lost”
Mysteria Maxima Music
8 April 2019

SELFLESS is a Post-Rock Orchestra that unites an armada of musicians on guitars, pianos, strings, drums, voices and more performing live to a dynamic film presentation. The group creates epic long-form cinematic instrumental music akin to contemporary groups such as Godspeed You Black Emperor, Mogwai and Sigur Ros.

SELFLESS features musicians from the Perth Symphony Orchestra and contemporary acts including Karnivool, Injured Ninja, Last Quokka and many more, collaborating with video artists and documentary film-makers

SELFLESS challenges conventions of traditional music and art in immersive performances that break the fourth wall – designed to educate and empower audiences to help enact positive social change through a carefully crafted poetic statement.

Utilising footage from award winning film-makers, a live cinematic tapestry is woven around a chosen narrative, sound tracked live by the orchestra without any lyrics or text – a purely emotional juxtaposition of sound and vision that evokes the feeling of experimental documentaries such as Koyaanisquatsi and Baraka.

Each SELFLESS performance is a direct opportunity for an audience to take action, donating proceeds from ticket sales towards grassroots activists and organisations associated with alleviating the issues presented in each narrative.

In their first statement SELFLESS presents ‘Great Barrier’ an hour long performance exploring the natural wonder that is the Great Barrier Reef, the rich history and our troubled relationship that has lead to the current threat of its extinction: the bleached corals and the establishment of coal mine ports that threaten its existence, alternating with the human resistance and restoration efforts to hope to save it.

SELFLESS creates spaces in which hope and despair co-exist, where audiences can be educated and inspired about issues of social and environmental justice. Every composition by the orchestra will be a unique exposition of the injustices in our world aimed to encourage audiences to take direct action.

Line up:
Steven Alyian – Guitar / Composer
Ray Grenfell – Bass
Jerome Turle – Drums
Drew Goddard – Guitar
Madeline Antoine – Violin
Miranda Murray Yong – Cello
Aaron Wyatt – Viola
Angus Young – Piano
Bhavani Naea – Vocals
Matthew Hatch – Flute

Country: Australia
Genre: Post-rock