Heyoka’s Mirror – “Asylum”

Heyoka’s Mirror is a Calgary based progressive rock/metal band with international roots.

Brought to life in the summer of 2015 by founding members Andrew Balboa and Omar Sultan, later that year joined by drummer Bayan Sharafi who found his home in Heyoka’s Mirror.

The Band played their first show in the winter of 2015, a talent showcase/competition organized by Landmark Events, which the band won! Rahbek Salomons filled in for bass guitar for these shows and helped Heyoka’s Mirror win and get their music out to Calgary and surrounding areas, Rahbek Salomons and Heyoka’s Mirror parted ways shortly after that.

During this time, Andrew and Omar kept writing music for their first EP and started writing music for what would end up being their first album.

Jumping to 2017, Heyoka’s Mirror released their first EP “Loss of Contact With Reality” on December 4.
At the end of 2018, drummer Bayan Sharafi recorded all the drum parts for the new Heyoka’s Mirror full length album. He left the band soon after to follow his career.
During 2019, Andrew Balboa and Omar Sultan finished writing their first album and began recording with the help of Casey Lewis and Johnny Kerr on drums, and Brendan Rothwell on bass at Echo Base Studios.

Heyoka’s Mirror will be releasing their debut full-length album in the summer of 2020.

“Asylum” is the only instrumental piece from their upcoming record. They are currently finishing their first full length concept album. In Asylum, the main character gets checked in into this institution and fights his inner demons.

Andrew Balboa – Vocals, keyboards and Rhythm Guitars
Omar Sultan – Lead Guitars
Brendan Rothwell – Bass
Johnny Kerr – Drums