Available On


Force of Habit

Artist: Immortal Sÿnn
Release Date: 7-5-2021
Genre: Heavy Metal/Thrash Metal

About Album

“Immortal Sÿnn is kicking ass and taking names in Denver.” – Sam Hendrickson, astatinemusic.com (Nov 7, 2015)

“Stylistically, Immortal Synn walks between heavy metal and thrash metal, combining the influences from both genres into a formidable sound that pulsates with potency.” – Randy Radic, Huffington Post (Aug 3, 2017)

“This is old-school metal played with obvious passion and a firm love of the early days of the style.” – Nigel Holloway, Wonderbox Metal (Jul 28, 2017)

“…if you are looking for a new band to check out and to really fall for, make Immortal Sÿnn be that band.” – Dom R., Maximum Threshold Radio

Force of Habit is the upcoming sophomore record from Colorado heavy metal group, Immortal Sÿnn. It is their first full-length album since 2017’s Machine Men. Recording and mixing took place at Rusty Sun Audio in Parker, CO with engineer Nick Nodurft, and was mastered by Jason Livermore (Rise Against, NOFX, As I Lay Dying, The Casualties, et al.) at The Blasting Room in Ft. Collins, CO. The cover art was created by Mike Learn (Megadeth, Trixter, Grateful Dead) of Mike Learn Airbrush.

This new record will be an evolution of the sound heard on Machine Men, but will also see the group continue into the realm of thrash metal, which was prevalent on the Capitol Punishment EP. The song, “Anamnesis”, shows the more melodic side of the band and is a polished track made for radio.

Lyrically, Force of Habit is slightly less political than on previous releases, but still touches on general issues such as government corruption and nuclear weapons. It also touches on some contemporary issues like the femicide in Mexico and the riots of 2020. As always, tracks like “Satan’s Tavern” and “The Mailman Song” show the less serious, tongue-in-cheek side of Immortal Sÿnn.

Due to guitarist Miguel Ruiz and bassist Andrew Cope’s firing after the band’s 2019 summer tour, almost all of the instrumentation on the record was handled by drummer Axel Berrios and guitarist/founder, Tony Z. New bass player Frantz Pierre and lead guitarist Brad Wagner did not join the band until close to the record’s completion. However, the bass for “Anamnesis” was re-recorded from the single version to include Frantz, and Brad did manage to record solos on “The Ballad of Marvin Heemeyer”, “Nuclear Terror”, “Denver Nights” and “Force of Habit“.

Force of Habit also marks the full-length debut of vocalist Duel Shape, who joined the band in March 2020, and has a style heavily-influenced by bands such as Cinderella, Dangerous Toys, and Mötley Crüe. All members of the band contribute vocal harmonies to this record, and in some cases, perform lead duty, like “The Mailman Song”, where Tony Z takes over as singer.

The album is set for release on May 7, 2021. It will be released digitally at synnstore.com and all major streaming sites as is standard, and will contain an Apple Music/iTunes exclusive track called, “The Night Is Young”, wherein Duel and Frantz switch off on lead vocals.

The band plans to release Force of Habit on physical media, too, which includes CD, vinyl, and cassette. Each format will have its own bonus track(s) in addition to the main album. The CD will contain an original entitled, “Eternal Night”, as well as a Cuca cover called, “La Balada”, with Axel on lead vocals. Vinyl will feature a cover of The Rods’ “Let Them Eat Metal”, while the cassette version will contain another original called, “State Oppression” alongside a cover of Sodom’s “Tired and Red”, the latter of which Tony Z takes over vocal duties again.

Force of Habit also marks a continuation of having friends of the band perform as guests on certain songs. “Whiskey II: The Wrath of Corn” features a guitar solo from Scott Uhl of Spiral Cell, and flute work from Marisol Vazquez. “La Balada” showcases the vocal talents of Sharone Borik (Sharone) and Mia Paris (Crimson Derecho), while “The Night is Young” and “State Oppression” feature guitar solos from Allen Maddox (Scarlet Canary, Heartsick Heroine).

Album pre-sales begin on April 23, 2021 at synnstore.com and Apple Music/iTunes.


Immortal Sÿnn has been making a name for themselves in Colorado since beginning to play live in January 2015. Since that time, they have shared the stage with well-known 80s groups such as Great White, Warrant, Winger, Ratt, Loudness, L.A. Guns, and others. They have also played with heavier acts such as Exmortus, Extinction A.D., Flotsam & Jetsam, Raven, Hammerfall, and Delain. The group has steadily been gaining popularity throughout the Denver club scene, playing well-known venues like The Gothic Theatre, Summit Music Hall, and Herman’s Hideaway.

“Your song, ‘Strength’, blew me away. Very, very powerful song. I can’t wait for your album, Machine Men. It’s gonna rock!” – Alex Dailey (attended Hammerfall/Delain show with Immortal Sÿnn at Gothic Theatre in Englewood, CO, 5/1/17)

The band has received airplay on KILO 94.3 in CO Springs and 107X in Denver, and has been featured on a multitude of online radio outlets such as Maximum Threshold Radio, Hard Rock Hell, The House of Pain, Truth Porn Militia, Asgard Radio, The Friday Night Feature, and The Drew and Mike Podcast (Detroit, MI). They have also been featured in multiple online and print magazines like Xposer Magazine, The Huffington Post, Fireworks Rock & Metal, Ultraje, PowerPlay, and Zero Tolerance.

With the release of their sophomore record, and buzz around the band picking up, they are excited to see which doors will be opened and which paths they can take.

Official Website | The Sÿnn Store | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube | Twitter | Spotify

Immortal Sÿnn is:
Duel Shape –  lead vocals
Tony Z – rhythm/lead guitar/vocals
Axel Berrios – drums/vocals
Frantz Pierre – bass/vocals
Brad Wagner – lead guitar/vocals

Track listing:
1. Anamnesis
2. Fight The Prince
3. F.U.D.C.
4. The Ballad of Marvin Heemeyer
5. The Mailman Song
6. Nuclear Terror
7. Satan’s Tavern
8. Denver Nights
9. Force of Habit
10. Whiskey II: The Wrath of Corn