Available On


Modern Obscurantism

Artist: Upon Shadows
Label: Ground Media Group
Release Date: 18-10-2019
Genre: Dark Metal

About Album

Format: Digital | CD
Country: Uruguay

UPON SHADOWS is a female Dark Metal Duo formed in Montevideo, Uruguay in 2002, and based in Oulu, Finland since 2013.

“Modern Obscurantism” is Upon Shadows seventh album and was released in October 2019 by the Finnish label Ground Media Group.

Now the duo is announcing a series of lyric videos that are going to cover all the songs from this album, and which are starting to be released from now and during the following months at Upon Shadows official YouTube channel. (http://www.youtube.com/c/TamaraPicardoUponShadows).

Watch the first video from this series “The Archaic Censorship Of Your Eyes” here :

About the concept of our new album:
“It establishes a parallelism between the obscurantism of the Middle Ages the new forms of control and censorship…
Reminding us of the importance of keeping rebelliousness alive and fighting for utopias. And musically the album can be defined as a mix of Extreme Metal and Dark Ambient.”.  Declares the lyricist and composer Tamara Picardo.

Physical released by Ground Media Group
(digipack version with 12 pages booklet edition)

1. Back to the Dark Ages (instrumental)
2. Vanity’s Bonfire
3. The Archaic Censorship Of Your Eyes
4. Creators Of Shadows
5. Dogma: The Infamy Of Fire
6. Lux et Umbra
7. Illusion Of Freedom
8. Handling Cognitive Factor
9. Out Of The Blue Comes The New Plague
10. Lucifer

Natalia Arocena – bass
Tamara Picardo – keyboards, guitars and vocals.
Sessionist drummer: Joonas Alaräihä

Bandcamp: https://uponshadows.bandcamp.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/UponShadows-128947133826217
Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/c/TamaraPicardoUponShadows
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/03MsvGZRthT6Cr4nSoqTje?si=M2xbdwN9RhuLoL8yqcZRlQ
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/uponshadows_official/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/UponShadows_
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/tamarapicardo